Best way I’ve found to lose weight

My weight is something that I am always obsessing about. I’m not overweight but I’m also not comfortable in myself and so I am always trying new ways to lose weight and if I’m honest, whether they work or not, I’m not great at sticking with them so I have been in a cycle of losing weight and gaining it again for years. However, I have found one thing that I always come back to.

I’m not suggesting people of any particular size need to lose weight. Everyone is beautiful no matter what size they are. However if any of you are feeling a bit uncomfortable and would like to lose a little weight, there is one way I have found that always works for me. Walking! I know everyone goes on and on about walking to lose weight but honestly, it is one of the best things to do as it is not only effective but available to people of any money situation as it is FREE.

It is also something that is super easy to incorporate into your day. If you drive, park slightly further away to your destination than usual, if you get the bus,  get off a stop or 2 early, use stairs instead of escalators and lifts and many, many more.

Personally I have been walking to the local town centre instead of getting the bus, which is a 20 minute, uphill walk. I have also tried getting off the bus before work a few stops early and walking to my mum’s house after work, which takes me around 1 hour.

Another tip is no matter how much they hype the products or say they are good for weight loss, completely avoid anything that says it is low fat! These products are usually higher in sugar and can actually make it harder to lose weight. And high levels of sugar is worse for you and harder to burn off than the fat. Of course I am talking about the good fats, such as some oils, nuts and fish. You still need to avoid the bad fats like what you find in a lot of take aways and fast foods.

I hope you find this random post helpful, but please, please, please remember that you do not need to look a specific way to please friends, family or society in general, no matter what the media and social media say. The only thing that means anything is how YOU feel. It doesn’t matter if you are a size 0 or 20+, if you are happy that is all that matters. These little tips are just for those who are uncomfortable within themselves and need an easy and healthy way to lose weight. For me personally I am a 27 year old female, 5’9″ and a UK size 14 and I would only like to go down to a UK size 12.

My final tip if you are trying to lose weight is avoid the scales!! I am guilty of weighing myself most mornings and feeling disheartened when I haven’t lost anything, even though it takes time for things to actually work. Also, muscle weighs more than fat. So if you are exercising and finding you are gaining weight, it could just be that you are building muscle without realising it and the higher number on the scale is only going to make you feel like your effort isn’t working when it is! The best thing I find is to use a measuring tape on the body parts I am focusing on so that I can see if they are getting smaller.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, please hit the like and leave a comment with anything you would like to read about and I will be happy to get back to you as soon as I am able to.

Author: happytohelp20

I am 27 years old and known as the agony aunt among my friends and family, so I'd like to use those years of experience to try and come up with topics that may help others in need or just share some random tips I have found useful that you might like as well.

Leave a Reply

